My top 10 screenings of 2011

Picture me laying down on my sofa with Miles Davis on the turntable and with pen in hand. I thought I would share with you my favorites of the year. I’ve based these on freshness of vision, mastery of the medium and enjoyment.

Here are my top 10 screenings of 2011:
1. The Tree of Life (Terrence Malick) – Brad Pitt is excellent throughout
2. War Horse (Stephen Spielberg) – Spielberg doing what he does best
3. Hugo (Martin Scorsese) – A great all round family film
4. The Artist (Michel Hazanavicius) – Brave, beautiful and silent
5. We Need To Talk About Kevin (Lynne Ramsey) – An award winning novel becomes a superb film
6. 1911 (Jackie Chan) – Another great Hong Kong release with Jackie’s 100th film
7. Forbrydelsen (The Killing Season 2) (Danmarks Radio) – Sarah Lund back in her stunning knit wear
8. Tick Tock (Len Chi) – Best 5 minutes I’ve spent on YouTube
9. Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (Tomas Alfredson) – Beautifully shot and holds true to the original message – which is trust and betrayal
10. Breaking Bad (Vince Gilligan) – Addictive viewing

Looking forward to seeing The Kill List and the new Great Expectations film in the new year.

Top 10 Screenings

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

